Meryl Streep, 2008 Laureate to receive 14th Annual Monte Cristo Award

October 27, 2013

The Eugene O"Neill Theater Center will honor theater, film and televison actress Meryl Streep with the 14th Annual Monte Christo Award for her enormous achievements and contributions to the American theater.  Streep’s  friend and fellow O’Neill artist and Yale classmate Joe Grifasi will present the award at a gala dinner in New York City on April 21, 2014.  The Monte Cristo Award is presented to a prominent theater artist each year in recognition of a distinguished career exemplifying Eugene O’Neill’s “pioneering spirit, unceasing artistic commitment, and excellence.”  Past recipients of the Award include Christopher Plummer, Michael Douglas, James Earl Jones, Harold Prince, Kevin Spacey, Neil Simon, Jason Robards, Jr., Edward Albee, August Wilson, Zoe Caldwell, Brian Dennehy, Karl Malden, Arthur & Barbara Gelb, and Wendy Wasserstein.

After studying at the Yale School of Drama and the O’Neill, Streep worked as a successful stage actress on Broadway and in New York as part of the New York Shakespeare Festival. She went on to debut in film with her role in The Deer Hunter in 1978 for which she received her first of seventeen Oscar nominations. Other notable roles include: Sophie’s Choice (1982), Postcards from the Edge (1990), The Bridges of Madison County (1995),The Hours, Adaptation (2002), The Devil Wears Prada (2006), and The Iron Lady (2011).  Streep will next be seen in the big-screen adaptation of “August: Osage County,“ the epic family drama by Tracy Letts that won the Pulitzer Prize for drama in 2008.